Worthless

in #poetry6 years ago

More very old words of a past left far behind…

Folding in

Folding over

Looking out

Looking on

Loosing me

The spite in her eyes… So unremitting…
She hates me… She hates me…
Mother’s cold eyes cut deeper than blades,
As her words shred, leaving me in tatters
Helpless to the onslaught when her rage strikes

Getting lost

Falling under

Ground up

Spat out

Left behind

The mistake of reaching out for help…
Who was he to touch me?
Betrayed when trust should rule
Secrets, shame to cap the pit
I am become nothing

Lost… alone

Falling… pain

Failing hope

Forgotten

I’m Worthless

ShelterStorm.jpg
© 05 September 2015
by D. Denise Dianaty

Sort:  

Thanks… I think. “Nice” isn’t what I was going for.

I'm glad you left it far behind--dark, dark place. You have to fall before you can rise. An interesting visual contrast in the placement of the words. Did you create the image also? Looks like phantoms in the clouds, menacing you.

Thank you. Yes, that is my drawing. And, it was a difficult journey. Thing is, I reached a point of completeness, of joy and peace… and realized, I’d not change one moment of my past because it led me to my present. I would knowingly suffer every pain and indignity to assure I would never risk missing out on now.

Very emotive, to have ones self-worth reduced to nothing is tragedy; but one that far too many of us have suffered.

Thanks. Yes, too many of us suffer too much. I’m very fortunate, though. I found my way out and found real joy and peace in my life. That’s not to say there are no more struggles in my life; but I have found true friends and loyalty, and unparalleled love and devotion. I’ve built a life of completeness and peace for myself with my husband – an amazing human being whom I cannot imagine my life without.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64