Colors of Greed - a poem by Mr. Fluid

in #poetry7 years ago

isolation3c1aa.jpg

Painting is "Isolation" by Karen S. Thompson,
taken from http://www.paintingsilove.com/image/show/127274/isolation

Colors of Greed

Skating on the ice of your vindictive mutiny
Arose a stranger called Miracle
And toward me crept

I want a home without walls
Unmade my man and self-made
Words prick me like needles of sweet revenge
And pins to
Puncture my memory

I want not to want

You embark upon my spirit with flutters
I taste you with wine
And my tongue speaks chaos
Laughter is the story of man
Give us nothing more

I never stop writing
Just stopped writing it down
You were there in the ink
Waiting to be shed
Why you would rise against me
I know not
But still I stand

There is unheard of strength
In this stillness
I oblige your will
And carry on about my madness

Taunting your lips ruby
You be
Soothing my content with your tinkering
Eternal love is but a wish
Not granted to the living
Giving room to spiders
How the darkness cloaks us

I want to be alive for a day
Tip the scales a bit
Mine is the song that writes itself
Unwarranted by old pilgrims
Hold the mask to my face
And decide which is me

Polar opposites we be
With the lights on
Flick the switch
To unleash the beast of my burden
Worthy of empty promises
My eyes beseech you

Give us night
Let the day fall to rest
Like blind soldiers
Bleeding for a chance to die
For a reason
Leaving only names behind
And children to discard them

I want to be the one not asking you to kneel
Unless it be in surrender of something
Much older than time
Lines across my face
Show the years laid before me
What shall I do with the spaces in my mind
Besides allow you entry
If and when you visit

Listen to the sound of the universe
“I love you” be the melody playing softly
In the corridors of morning
Walk with me through the structure

Love is but a kiss
Nothing more
I wait for the lions to find me
With greed in heart
Like fresh meat for teeth gnashing
Lash out at my questioning
But kill me the same

I am still
Find me here
Or never come looking

Written by Mr. Fluid, 2014

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66