"Freedom" - a poem by Mr. Fluid

in #poetry7 years ago

freedom-cassette-art-216334a618.jpg

"Freedom"

the blue wind wisps

under the branch

shakey

'follow me'

says the mother

waiting

the young jay

would soon discover

freedom

in the sky

beyond home

but not until

surrender

my grasp on life

is why

i won't hold on

the sky

waiting for me

in the moment

won't know

my tears fell

where they wade

in the ocean

craving notice

unsung

be my freedom song

how long will i stand?

the white moon

pierces the dark

finds a window

that belongs to a cell

inside, it holds a man

the cell

belongs to the state

having no concept of

the freedom

that he dreams of

in slumber and in wake

that his dream

is manufactured

is the crime

that finds no sentence

true freedom

is in the mind

not the wine

the wardon sips

and they laugh

outside his cage

dangle keys

from their belts

the worst kind of pig

is never truly free himself

the mud

he wallows in

only seeps

into his skin

hate and fear

plague his kin

now the story's told again

like the bird

afraid to fall

i must lose myself

and fly

let the mask

that i wear

fail to cover

what i hide

expose

my endless wanting

so my want

may meet its end

for freedom

can't be taken from

or given

to a man

only realized

in quiet minds

that question not

the stars

who hold no fault

for free

could never

not be

it's who we are

Written by Mr. Fluid, 2014

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56