You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Poetry: Arthur Rimbaud, The Seer Poet of Modernity (Part II)

in #poetry5 years ago

With poetry it happens to me like Ariadne: writing leaves a thread that I, as a reader, like Theseus, follow to discover where it takes me. I remember that the first time I read Rimbaud, his poetry was a labyrinth for me, a boldness. Many of the images I saw and the words I read, I had never seen in a poem: warts, dark skeletons, worms, sordid. But I also found the best rhymes, the most sublime images, the perfect rhythm of the modern poet. Season in hell thus became a difficult book for me, but dear. A labyrinth where I didn't know where the entrance was and where the exit was. In the end, I think a good way to read Rimbaud is with passion. Very good post, @josemalavem. Greetings.

Sort:  

I like the image of Ariadne's labyrinth and thread to approach our relationship with poetry metaphorically. Indeed, Rimbaud's poetry is difficult; its reading is arduous; it requires a special interpretative effort. I always remember the phrase of that other great dark poet, José Lezama Lima: "Difficult is stimulating".
Thank you for your upcoming reading, @nancybriti. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63861.47
ETH 3215.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84