STEEMPOEM: HOPE

in #poetry6 years ago

1804595_S.jpgsource

If there is the slightest chance
That tomorrow will offer a better bargain than today
I am taking it.
I don't know how to stay down for too long,
I've reached heights too high
To ever settle for less.
I keep hoping for the best.
Sometimes my best is my hope.
The tiny voice in my head that keeps nudging me forward.


I've come too far to fail.
Too many sacrifices have been made,
Many bridges burnt.
It's impossible to find my way back
To the place or person, I once was.
This hope might seem delusional,
But is there any prize for faithlessness?
Does it rid my mind of worries?
Does it even try?


If there is the slightest chance of hope
I am taking it.
It's my gamble with life.
The price I have to pay
It's the only way I know.


I hope hopeless
Something I learnt from my mother.
She does it perfectly.
The first magic trick I saw,
Was on the face of a woman
Who made a smile appear from nothing.
How can anyone live this way, I questioned.
To a point where it worked so effectively--hope.


I've seen dreams bore out of their confined space
From the grips of the smothering night into the overwhelming light of the sun;
I've heard the sounds of hope
Pierce through darkness,
So if you tell me there is the slightest chance
That my hopes and dreams have a place in this life
I'm taking it, without hesitation.


©EkpemanduChinonso


download.png

Sort:  

@Nonz, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57