A Shortcut to Heaven

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hell's gate opened up
Swallowing me in whole
Crazy as it may seem
'twas not too bad at all.

I followed the path hazy
Leading to nowhere sure.
The way was not that scenic
At least I wasn't there alone.

I reached the foothill
Of a mount so huge.
To prove my real worth,
Scale it somehow I must.

I was sure of my footing
The climb was fast & sublime;
Then I stumbled and stuttered;
The hill was probably cursed.

I saw what little remained,
Of many who meandered this way.
It was a ghastly scene unlike any
Nothing pleasant for me to say.

I understood I should look past
What was visible to the eye.
To overcome this fear,
I learnt to see the unseen.

The climb never ends
In this enchanted hill
I gladly made new friends
And this is a routine no more.

Providing a helping hand,
Lending a patient ear,
To understand and appreciate,
Is what makes up this race.

You master this game
And appreciate it more
The moment you fathom
That life is meaningless alone.

'Tis written - when you think beyond "I",
Learn to go past "them"
And find a solace in "us",
You'll find your portal to heaven.

Image source: Google


Steemit Blogger Central: You can post your articles on our channels for real time growth

| |


The below footer is created with steemitboard - click any award to see my board of honor!

Sort:  

Beautifully written!👍

Thanks a lot!

as a teen i did made a poem for a girl. :) long time ago.

A very moving journey...we are but fellow sojourners. I appreciated this poem immensely.

Thank you for the appreciation. Usually my writings are like a pebble dropped in the vast ocean. It is surprising and wonderful in many ways to see it made one ripple!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56