A Song for the Unknown Child

in #poetry7 years ago

Something written impromptu; maybe I hear too many unheard cries of late? This is written for those kids whose childhood has been cut short - perhaps by war, calamity or acts of terror.

They were not meant to be headline news in negative sense. Maybe if we were tolerant enough, we might have seen another flower bloom!

child-of-war.jpg

I was born in someone's womb,
Cherished, nourished and nurtured.
I have been in the shop of candy
Built a castle on the sea shore.

I loved the rocking horse,
Also the carousel at fun fair.
I've founded many realms, in play;
Lost countless hours in peekaboo.

Alas my friends now lay scattered
Maybe I'll see them no more.
My kingdom of heaven is lost too
Buried in cobweb memories.

I hardly care for carousels,
My life's gone for a spin.
The rocking horse surely exists
Under the shattered roofs of home.

Castles are meant to be broken
But what about my little dreams?
I can no longer savour candy
After tasting my own blood.

I care for one more cuddle
I cannot see my mom
I am not a count, neither a statistic
I was born in someone's womb, you know?!

Image source: Inked One


Steemit Blogger Central: You can post your articles on our channels for real time growth

| |


The below footer is created with steemitboard - click any award to see my board of honor!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nrajesh from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Emotions well portrayed, truly heart wrenching!

Thanks. It's not a situation for anyone to be in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56