You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ideologues, Activists and the Theater of the Absurd + "The" ... a poem

in #poetry6 years ago

Ok free association:

Heisenberg uncertainty principle

Grading on the curve.

Careful, land mines!

OMG eclectic, verbose and random.

I hope those millions of fans come voting up your posts. Hopefully you will remember the Old Guy when you get big.

Will you join me in my campaign to eliminate the apostrophe. I mean if we have to type it all the damn time, what is the point of abbreviating!

What on Earth did I just read LOL. If they ever fork this to pay by the word, you my friend, will soon be a whale!

Sort:  

Apostrophes are not the problem. People who misuse them are. And how about
hyphen incorrectly added after an -ly word? politically-incorrect is INCORRECT!
It's gramatically incorrect to hyphenate politically incorrect.
I'm more than half a century old, and I will also defend the.... gasp... Oxford Comma no matter what the AP Stylebook has to say about that.
I should be writing, not debating correct or incorrect writing...

@carolkean,

I think you and I are going to get along well (not "good," Old Guy, "well"). Unlike the other baboons with their whoops and hollers ... you, too, are erudite. And, for the record, I was only kissing up to @old-guy-photos about the apostrophe thing. He was my mentor and so I feel I owe him simple sentences. :-)

He makes fun of my verbosity all the time. What do you think?

Quill

Verbosity for fun and self-indulgent pleasure is the stuff of some classics (Humbert Humbert, Dorian Gray?), but only a precious few writers can be entrusted with this privilege. So far, so good! Actors emote, and erudite writers verbote! (Er, something like that!)

@carolkean,

... and erudite writers verbote!

I wish their audiences would upvote.

Quill

Um... we have audiences? Who reads verbose writers these days?
;)

@carolkean,

People who know what the word, "erudite" means.

Quill

LOL!
Of course!
Are there enough of the erudites to upvote Quill on Fire?

@carolkean,

Yes.

Quill

Who is this oddbot whose one vote is worth 11 cents?
I am envious! I want to spread SBD and...
um, that kinda sounded too much like STD.
Never mind - I wanna spread SBD like a dairy princess tossing out candy in a parade!

@carolkean,

@oddbot ... a really good guy ... who ought to be a Witness.

Quill

@oddbot is a guy, not a bot?
I feel like Dorothy in Oz.
How to keep track of all you characters!
So, who else deserves my vote as a Witness... I've lost track of that too!

@carolkean,

@oddbot is a real person, not a bot. Odd, isn't it? :-) High IQ, a good guy and an excellent content creator/supporter. I'm actually going to try to talk him into becoming a Witness. I'd write a damnably fine poem for the occasion.

I'm also toying with the idea of deleting all my Witness votes and starting all over again from zero. This time, when I voted for a Witness, I'd publish an extremely detailed post explaining precisely why I voted for that person/group.

On each such post, I'd include the list of my existing Witnesses with a hyperlink back to the explanation for having chosen them. And hence, an ever-expanding QuillFire Witness List.

We've got to start getting serious about the Witnesses. The Top 20 have tremendous power to effect how the blockchain operates ... or doesn't. It isn't sufficient that they're "nice guys" or that they "created a snazzy new front end" or that they're "involved with the community."

  1. I want to see business acumen. I want to see a commitment to Steemit, not just STEEM (and SMT's). I want to see that they understand people, not just code ... it is, after all, a "social media platform."

  2. I want to see communication skills, both an ability to articulate complex ideas, and a willingness to do so.

  3. I want to see some gray hair. As a 50-year-old who has lived, traveled to, or worked in 57 countries, been wounded three times in combat and started/managed several businesses, I hope I can be forgiven for not being convinced that 20- and 30-somethings "have seen it all." Wisdom is more about "knowing what not to do," as evidenced by scars, than it is about "knowing what to do," as conceived by conjecture.

  4. Most importantly, I want to see support for Steemit's Central Premise, that: Content Shall Be Compensated Commensurate With Its Quality. Besides strong support for quality content creators, this also means strong support for manual curators, as they are as important to the process as are quality content providers.

  5. As all this will require push-back from time to time, I also want to see someone with a bit of steel in their spine.

  6. And ... it wouldn't hurt if they loved Billy Joel and the Eagles.

Quill

@old-guy-photos,

The apostrophe ... YOU NOTICED THAT TOO! Great minds.

Pay-by-the-word ... music to my ears. In a month, I'd own this place. BTW, I noticed you didn't "quote my poem" ... cheapskate.

"Logic" has become "land mines" ... and that, I submit, is a bad development. When people can't talk about their differences, or when they engage in endless rhetoric when they do, problems never get solved. Indeed, they tend to get worse. Magical thinking makes one susceptible to sleights-of-hand.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87