The Pressure; The Motivation??

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

images.jpg
[image source] (https://www.thinksales.co.za/pressure-and-performance)

Introduction

Alright as at the time this short post/poem was made it was 11:03am WAT and it was somewhere in OK not just somewhere it was in the University of Benin, Edo state, Nigeria. And the truth is I really had to meditate and try to find myself in some of the real issues I was facing. I was broke hungry and though steemit was suppose to be a source of relief, it didn't seem to be that at that moment neither was my niqqa @stevenson7. So I had to think within myself in quie, windy environment and this came up so as I always say..

Take a trip with me into the cesspool of silliness that is my thoughts. Do enjoy

#The Poem
I feel it crawl underneath my skin..
I and the madness becoming one and the same..
The desire to be comfortable.. The need to be in control..
The incessant need to win.. The drive to be on top..

People call it the pressure...
Others say otherwise..
Others call it motivation..
I just can seem to wrap my head around this guy..

All I know is that it is suppose to be the stimulant that gets me off my bed..
It is suppose to be the fire burning inside my chest..
It is to be drive running insidey head..
The will and desire to be truly at rest..

And so I ask myself is it truly attainable..
What the pressure draws me to, is it really conceivable..
Cause when I look it for what it is I see that it may he unobtainable..
Perhaps my desired should become that which is the available..

But the drive wouldn't let it be so..
For everyday I wake up I forced to farm and sow.
Not by the flesh ripping whips or a taskmaster's blow..
But by the need and desire to see all I love grow..

Or maybe that not really the case..
Maybe all I do is because of the chase..
Maybe I know satisfaction is nothing but a closed case..
But I go hard all the same because dying is the worst case..

Or maybe I really do it for myself..
I do it because I would rather have a hundred @stach to a bookshelf..
Or be the best version of this poor self..
And make all other person's proud of me even at the cost of loosing myself..

About the poem.

As you can tell it's not really a long one but when I was writing this I was going through a period of self doubt. I also did it with the intentions of coming back to see how far God had taken me and some of the things I had been through that weren't easy. Also I was in a kind of depressed state of mind and I just needed to let it out. As to the structure of the poem it is made up of seven stanzas each consisting of four lines. I also used rhymes as inspired by my good friend Ruona (don't worry he is not yet on steemit). I hope you enjoy it..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55