ghost

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)


On the couch, I shift my hands
as Francis tries to understand

these awful secrets spilling out
into the room with all the lamps

In the corner, there he stands
(but no one else can see him)

daring me to break my hands
so no one else can feel them

Time winds down and she stands up
as I begin to cry.

Tissues fight the dead in here
but she says I'll be fine.

A breath untangled in the breeze
spoke seven words of warning:

"Watch your back, the clouds will fall."

(My darling died that morning.)

I can't keep that bird now
The one that got away.
I can't kiss that star now
The one here in the gray.



poem ©2018 @paintingangels
photo by Nick Harris1 (creative commons)
I am a proud member of @helpie
helpie is now a witness. We appreciate your vote.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Eerie, love it

You certainly have a way with words! Well done!
A bit macabre, just right for the season....

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

So beautiful and sad... that last stanza gave me chills and brought a lump to my throat. I love the way you wrote this, it's somehow both revelatory and cryptic. So many layers of devastating meaning, delivered with such subtlety. Beautiful beautiful @paintingangels <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97