Rooftops

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

4570630529_f2e2a81d96_o.jpg

DQmYvtmzrY5CPgc5tvuEJZhuJ974KY51jybAsxj5XHgpjQp.png

Sometimes my head floats away
into swirls of gray clouds and big dreams
as I sling these blue words onto paper
and I calm down the thunderous things

I'll speak to you like we're both feathers
and we're trapped here beneath these old wings
of a dove who's lost all navigation
She's been crashing headfirst into things...

She was lost in the barn for 6 Wednesdays
and she never did notice the light
She was nestled beneath the old tractor
afraid of the sounds in the night...

But the barn owl was wise and he told her
to stretch out her wings and look up
and see that the barn had no roof there
in the corner above the tin cups

So now we're not trapped but we're falling
more quickly than we can defend
And this freedom to rise above rooftops
might break us before we can bend.

DQmYvtmzrY5CPgc5tvuEJZhuJ974KY51jybAsxj5XHgpjQp.png

words and picture (c) 2018 @paintingangels
I'm a proud member of @helpie and also a scout! If you want to learn more, visit the @helpie page or send me a note at discord: paintingangels(serena)#3668

helpie banner by my super sweet friend and fellow helpienaut @bembelmaniac

Sort:  

We had a strange situation here one hour ago. We were watching a very fast and low cloud passing by above us, and we noticed a small flash and a noise hit the roof 1 meter above us. It was not a true lighting, but a strong electricity building up above us, maybe... in any case.. it was time to seek better refuge hehe. The storm has passed now.. it was super fast and strange!

Very interesting story
This i have to say
When Serena writes her poems
She makes you think for a whole day.

❤😁

Wow! I love this... the imagery, the way I can apply all sorts of different meanings to it... I especially like this stanza:

I'll speak to you like we're both feathers
and we're trapped beneath these old wings
of a dove who's lost all navigation,
she's been crashing headfirst into things

Well crafted, my friend!

Prolific wanderings of the mind, you have...

And this is why you should be suspicious of seeing pies within a window shaped viewport.

I could literally hear you sing this as I read. It has wonderful flow, and I love the lines:

as I sling these blue words onto paper
and I calm down the thunderous things

Like, turning the thunderous into blue skies with blue words that you either a) Wrote with a blue pen :P or B) Are blue, because darn us artistic types, we've got a lot of blues.

Nice stuff hon!

Great poem and picture. Following.

I was thinking to comment and my brain was totally empty, Then I read it again and again and again. Yeah, Three times, and the brain still empty:-) But some wonderful lines there. Quite deep and full of imagination. I relate myself to the second Stanza and it's wonderful. Still mixed emotions:-)
Lots of Love
Hash-tag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98