Poem: NATURE WARS ON ME

in #poetry6 years ago

Hello Everyone

Nature wars on me
Sun smashes me by day
And the moon bores me by night.
I sup and sleep in dolor

The heaven and grebe
Bite me like a viper
When I come to wrestle,
The down shower sets in

Angry wolves steal my sheep,
Locusts and caterpillars
Wage war on my garden,
Devastating flood eats
And uproots my crops and tent.
The worst; my by bride is a tiger
My flesh emaciated
Bones of my body seen at a glance

I am like one with AIDS
Eyes detested and avoided me like leper
Oh, people treat me like oxiamenia

THEMATIC ANALYSIS
In stanza one, the poet cries out at nature for warring on him, with calamities that are too harsh for him to bear. He paints the pictures of the myriads of disasters he goes through, which he claims aim at his demise

In subsequent stanzas, the poet laments his travails, which he describes as suffocating and fatal. He describes nature as declaring war on him, and foisting hardship, extreme lack and peril on him. Having taken a look at himself, he describes his gaunt looking physique as resembling an AIDS patient.

Sort:  

Congratulations @peneke! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @peneke! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69407.16
ETH 3676.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26