Dead Winter

in #poetry5 years ago

Every sentence I begin
Becomes arrested, frozen
In the icy grip of dead Winter
It's breath gone, words splintered
The entire poem, useless nonsense
Boreas bellowed, Calliope is hindered
In the icy grip of dead Winter..

Sun's light hidden behind
heavy, gray clouds, looming
a dark promise of more and more
snow, ice, and skin stinging winds
so cold, I can hardly breathe
My inspiration suffocated
In the icy grip of dead winter

She's gone. Seems like forever,
fierce loneliness in her absence
An eternity of silence, lost
and afraid. Held tightly
in the icy grip of dead winter
I can't move for fear of breaking
from the chill left in my bone marrow

All I want, all I need is
one weak ray of sunshine
to break the sky, light my eyes
and warm my skin. A promise
that she will return to me
alive and well. Escaped from
the icy grip of dead winter

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95