The Forest (a poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

I am dark, loamy soil underneath the rotting leaves
I am deep green moss and hidden creatures unseen
I am tall, wide trees reaching upward evergreen
I am the forest who calls you, do you understand me?
Do you remember when your people lived beneath the canopy?
Do you still speak the language of my breeze?
Do you feel the chill of the dark burrows at night?
Do you know the peace of my bones beneath your feet?
Where have you gone?
Why did you leave?
You belong here with us
A creature of the green.

Phe 23/8/2018

Sort:  

This is a really beautiful poem @phoenixwren. I can totally "hear" this in a song sung by Enya or maybe Ed Sheeran (like what he did for "I See Fire" in the Hobbit).

Thanks! I will have to look up "I see fire." 😊

You belong here with us
A creature of the green.

It's beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

You should write more poetry, Phe! I love this!

I absolutely adore this. <3 <3 <3

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phoenixwren

We have planted already 3357.70 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24451.49
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66