Outage

in #poetry6 years ago

The power was out
restlessly we swam
through the humid haze
half crazed
more than half naked
bare skin and skinned knee

Like moth to flame
I beelined for your temple doors
Where you were not
and like moth to flame
I felt the fluorescent burn
of missing you

We waded through darkness
The blood dripped from knee to shin
Shrines were built to our goddess
naked beauty with woven baskets
at her womanly hips
and bosom begging for worship

The power was out for days
Not just the spider webs of electricity
sitting idly in our walls
The Sun had fled town

Where It went
we could only guess
We walked the streets desperate for daylight
but we would not
be sated with sunshine

People go mad in the dark

We were
wild
in our wounded world
We wept and picked at the scabs
that formed scars
we would not see

and wandered restlessly
waiting for The Sun to come home


Jill Robidoux. flickr

Sort:  

Nice good poetry&poems comment &vote my post thanks

your poem was fascinating to follow @pinkspectre
thanks for sharing and have a blessed day

Hi there @pinkspectre , I enjoyed you poetry. I will keep following. I learned a new word with you today: "wade"

See you around,

b.b.

I am in steemit a month... i uploading some poem in steemit, please visit my blog and suggest... and support me...thank

Poetry is on its best when you have to read it again and again. You understand the words but get to know the meaning the way you see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65