Poetry Vomit: An Apology List

in #poetry6 years ago

PSRZ8521.jpg

An apology List

I apologize for these following things:

  1. I apologize for staring at you with your eyes closed
    I could not fathom how out of all
    People you could have handpicked
    You’re with a trash
    Smeared with paint
    Out on the gutter
    Singing undistinguished phrases
    Of lullabies or rock songs
    Do you think of me
    With every blink or do
    You thank the ominous
    For bringing you
    Rubbish at your footsteps?

  2. I apologize for holding your hands
    Too tightly that if
    It had procured lungs
    It might have suffocated
    For i could not comprehend
    How they have staggered me
    Up the bed after a blackened
    Out mind
    Or how it puts me to rest
    As you rest it on my face
    Mostly left cheek
    But do you tire?

  3. I apologize for shutting the doors and
    Forgetting where I left the keys
    Because I did it on purpose
    And now I lost them
    I’m not keeping you out
    I’m locking myself in
    To save such exquisite art
    From undisciplined hands
    For human touch distorts
    Masterpieces
    I am sorry

  4. I apologize for making this list because
    The things I am sorry for
    Would make this unbearable to read
    Or listen to
    But i still did
    Making it shorter and putting
    Things i’d actually apologize for
    Believe me, this could
    Go longer
    But i’d like to have longer days
    With you
    And for that I won’t
    Apologize.

_________________________________________________

There are moments in our lives where others would make us feel like we need to apologize for how we feel. Although there are things we want to apologize for, we truly don't have to please others. I wrote this piece with no one in mind, I placed myself in the shoes of a friend whose parents don't approve of her significant other due to a family feud. It's a modern day Romeo and Juliet, and I wasn't a very big fan of Romeo and Juliet. People are making it hard for them for falling in love, for wanting to stay with each other. I definitely think it's ridiculous. She can apologize for hiding it from her parents, apologize for staying out late with him, but I can't find any reason why she should apologize for being with him.

Life's hard.

All the love
xx

Sort:  

I have no words. This is utterly beautiful.

awwweee I'm really glad you think so * blushes *

yes, you are right we should never apologize for love..She can go for it, its her life after all:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64