My story and Journey of 40 days in Isolation while in Prison

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

In 2015 I spent exactly 40 days in what is known as the "hole" by the inmates or the SHU (Special Housing Unit) by the prison. Its where you are put when you get in trouble inside prison, and is complete isolation from the rest of the prison. 24 hours in isolation, food fed through a tray in the door, and 2 books given per week...

I went into this situation bound in drug addiction, and suicidal, but came out a forever changed man....During this 40 days I met the Love and Grace of God as I searched for freedom from my bondage, and I began to write everyday and cry out to God.

So I will share some of my poems, prayers, and writings that brought me through the despair and brokenness...Today I want to share with you a poem I wrote on October 2nd 2015 17 days into my 40 day journey.....

FREEDOM

The silence is deafening,
My thoughts circling- the faces of my 2 boys I keep imaging.
The hope of laughter, the tenderness of a hug, my heart aches to be the man they need.
My mind tries to torment me with all the perceived failures and guilt.
The keys jingle from the guard that walks past my cell.
The chill of the cell, the bareness of the walls.
The souls of the men echoing in the darkness, the chants of the Muslims.
The hunger inside the body waits for the next meal.
Its all so overwhelming, the hole, isolation.
Thoughts of escape not physically but mentally...
Then the realization, the awareness, its ok. It's ok! Tomorrow is a new day. The Truth is I am loved, blessed, I will survive.
The fears, the darkness, the sounds, the hunger, the loneliness is silenced, by the Grace, Love, and Peace of God...I have hope, I can still dream, there is Freedom within no matter what holds me. No matter what door, what key, or what guard, I am finding my Freedom through Grace and Love....
I am free again, my spirit is alive, I am overwhelmed with a new found Hope...I Am and I will......

Thank you God for freedom in darkness!

Much Love and Blessings🙏😇💓

Please resteem, upvote, and follow to bring hope and freedom through positive change within!!

FB_IMG_1517952700108.jpg

Sort:  

well i like this i read a bit of it but really like the caption

Blessings🙏🙏🙏

Resteemed

Thank you for resteeming!!! Blessings🙏🙏🙏

friend my respects for you, and beautiful words and my brother also went to pressure but thank God it was proven that he was innocent and in his own time was 20 people and the selda was 4x4 meters imagine what that suffering was like and you had to sleep while sitting on the cold floor and really thank God came out of there and came back to life so to speak has my vote friend! go ahead

Wow, ah its crazy being locked away....And i know that in the US its not nearly as bad as other places in the world...Glad your brother was found innocent

I appreciate your vulnerability and beautiful words.

Seems to me that through your ordeal you had a life changing spiritual epiphany...

I hope things are great for you now.

xox

Thank you, and yes its been a ongoing journeybof freedom and love...Still a lot of healing but Im grateful for where I am within...Thanks for comments and I am,following now

I wish you well on your road and have happily reciprocated your follow.

xox

Love your writing <3 @positivechange10

Glad you enjoyed. blessings 🙏🙏🙏

Very inspirational. Keep going!

Thank you and welcome...Im following now as well🙏🙏🙏

In prison torture so much.

I agree especially the isolation, i think it is inhumane...

great work "Freedom" ... blessings

Blessings🙏🙏🙏

Amazing article.Much obliged for sharing it

Blessings🙏🙏🙏

Good writing.Thanks for sharing with us

Blessings🙏🙏🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60