A regrettable mistake

in #poetry6 years ago

Contrary to popular belief, I am not a good person, was never and probably would never be. This could pass for the statement of a person wanting to look modest but I entreat you not to take it as such.

I wouldn't really say I came from a poor home because there were a lot of people that wished for what we had. But it would be right to say we couldn't really afford all the fine things of life like I wanted, things that the other rich kids showed off in school. Either ways I didn't consider myself privileged.

My parents were very religious people, I was brought up in the way of the lord. I had alot of questions concerning this God, his existence and a couple other things but no one seemed to have the answers to all my questions, truth is they never really understood him themselves!

I carried myself like a righteous person should, and I was respected. I was either in school, church or at my hostel. I made very good grades, I couldn't be found doing some things that my peers would do. Though I wanted them, I had already set a standard for myself, I couldn't fall below expectations.

Rachael was one of my closest friends, equally intelligent and very religious. There was this her roommate I admired. Cassy, she was beautiful, had a nice figure and could afford the fine things of life. Everything I prayed for but never had!

It was her birthday and she put up a small party for her roommates. Dey all saw me as a roommate because I spent most of my time there, her boyfriend had gifted her the latest Samsung phone, it got all the girls screaming and wishing they had such a guy. I wished so too, only that I couldn't say.

I walked into the room one afternoon looking for Rachael but no one was in. I was about leaving when I noticed that same phone lying beautifully on Cassy's bed.

I couldn't resist the temptation so I picked it up. It had no lock, so I dive into the phone exploring all its goodness. There was no sign of anyone coming soon so I took the phone away. I didn't really know what I was thinking, but it didn't change the fact that I just stole a phone.

Later that night the hostel was upside down, I had never seen Cassy so furious before, she reported to the hostel governor and wardens and there was an approval to search the whole hostel.

The bell rang and everyone was advised to be in their room and stand by their beds while the security locked the gate. My heart raced, over and over again. I was in trouble. It was too late to bring out the phone. I had no explanation whatsoever. I was doomed!

D search was going on room by room. They got to my room and dey almost didn't want to search me, I was that respected!
'Sharon no fit thief na but just open your bag make e no be like say we no search you' said the warden.

I chuckled, trying to open my bag. My heart pounding seriously.

Then someone screamed.

No be Cassy phone be this?
Ah Deborah so na you?

They had found the phone in Deborah's bag. I had carefully put the phone into her bag while every one was moving haphazardly in search of the said phone. They dragged her out of the room with slaps and blows and kicks. They tore her shirt and paraded her round the hostel in the most humiliating manner.

The more she said 'it's not me'
The more slaps she received.
I stood watching from the window, her tears, her shame, the torture.

I said nothing, I watched it all!
Don't try to judge me, am just as wicked as you are!

#sadpoet#
#storytelling#
#superiorwritesfictionstoo#

Sort:  

Congratulations @princechibuike! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princechibuike from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Congratulations @princechibuike! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61