The Trains by Keith Cail

in #poetry6 years ago

My grandfather died with a bullet in his head
my grandma escaped by crawling through the slime
my great uncle lost a leg and starved to death
but, as they say, the trains ran on time

I had an uncle who couldn't dodge the draft
we don't know what happened, its a crime
he's been MIA for forty years
but, as they say, the trains ran on time

Weapons of mass destruction got my brother
he joined to save us and stepped on a mine
he came home in a box, there were no wmas
but, as they say, the trains ran on time

I met a man he was gray and old
he said he was there at Italy's end
he said he would have lost his job
cause the train was late again

It wasn't me, I wasn't there
how can you tell when they lie
if their lips are moving
its a pretty good bet
and out goes the next one to die

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56