Ode to Mrs. Grundy by Keith Cail

in #poetry6 years ago

You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same
You cry because I hurt your feelings
I cry because that's your shame

You hurt because I'm broken
I hurt because you just can't see
You haven't even got a clue
My brokenness is what makes me , me

You say you want to fix me
I say I don't want you to
You say it would be easier
But easier for who

You loved me as a loser
I'd love it if you'd win
Harming myself is only stupid
Harming others is the only sin

You say that you'll accept me
I say I bet you will
I tell you one of my secrets
It's a good thing looks can't kill

You reject me for not wanting help
I reject your help not you
You want me to be like the crowd
I want to be like the few

You're bound by chains and fetters
I'm bound by the the need to flee
If I did just what you asked me to
Do you really think it would set me free

You think I have no feelings
I think yours are all about you
It's never what you say
It's only what you do

You pray for me till evening
I pray that it will end
This lonely aching feeling
You're to busy praying to be my friend

You'll never understand me
I'll never understand why not
As if living out your own life
Wasn't everybodys lot

You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same
Your laughter hides your hate
My laughter hides my pain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64