You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scar Tissue

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Ahhhh man. I can feel duality flowing through these words.

I've given a name to the personification
of hurt and doubt and pain.
Because naming things gives you strength over them.
I've named him Malachite.

I might be completely wrong, but what I took from this poem personally was a very clear reflection on the fight between the inner demons of past disappointments and the realities of now. I love the above lines as (to me) they represents that healing process, of naming, recognizing and calling out those demons to find resolution... or I could be reading a whole lot into this poem lol.

So many fantastic images though @geekorner

We try to outgrow our scars,
but it is scar-tissue that keeps us bound,

Who are you when you put on
someone else's face,
when you hide in someone,
something,
that does not feel;

Sort:  

Thanks Rowan!

You're somewhat right. The naming of these aspects is simply because they are there. A resolution, maybe not.

Though the demons try to fight the now, they were long-time companions of mine, and they were the present, in the past, and the present I try to avoid now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87