He Smiled: An Original Poem By @rexsanguis

in #poetry6 years ago

father-2939952_1280.jpg

HE SMILED.

Our eyes jammed.
Two unsmiling faces betraying no affection locked in an intense gaze.
Into mine, His milky edged pupils peered.
It was still the same but everything changed.
This time, I wasn't scared.
I dared to return the look right back.

Then, I saw it – a spectacle so fremd.
I thought I saw the apathetic scrutiny peel off,
In its place, his eyes radiated warmth.
I don't know, I cannot be sure,
but could that moment of intense warmth and unspeakable ambiance be called Love?

Finally,
at the end of what must've been eternity,
his face creased and his lips upturned.
It was a smile, an infectious one.
Slowly, with precision,
his head bobbed in what seemed to be a nod - two nods.

Awkward confidence radiated from within like a new sunrise,
fixing my gait, straightening my shoulders and puffing my chest,
with my chin tilted a couple more degrees to the heavens with what seemed like a peacock's pride.

That smile again.
A muted thud echoed of the clasp of hands.
His grasp firm and strong but I held on.
I could feel my bones cry under his pressure
But my face didn’t betray a wince, nor my throat a wail.
Then came the click of our fingers – a happy ending.

No words, but all was said.
The message loud and clear,
with resounding echoes bouncing off walls of space.
"Father,
I am a man now."
He smiled – again.

-REX SANGUIS

DQmQGasaxDDehk55oFrjiWrWd53jBgByHXPe7eBSMjhgXct.gif

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69299.72
ETH 3669.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.28