Throwback Thursday: Those Days - A Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180412_021146.png

THOSE DAYS


I miss those days.
I miss his smile.
I miss her innocence.
Such lit faces.
What could be making them smile so wide?

I miss the bond, We used to feel like one.
So strong was it, I was sure we could never be torn.
Lord knows it must've been - was definitely - love.
It was no doubt we were star-crossed from above.

You were my Princess.
I swore never to cherish you any less.
I could never bear to you see you in tears.
Though it was my birthright, it was always you first.
I mean, eat to your full and I'm ready to die of thirst.
IMG_20180412_021158.png

Moons have gone and come.
An ixora upon which it duly rained, you've grown.
I see the changes now, I see the weight and curves you've gained.
Slim, tall and graceful, you are now a lady.

Forgive me if like a child I still treat you.
I cannot reconcile with the fact you're small no more.
Pardon me if you find me overbearing,
For I know its a jungle out here - filled with predators.
I know my fellow kind, for I too devour.

18 or 92.
Do I really care?
You remain my child,
the one who gorged on meals of sand.

I miss those days.
I miss his smile.
I miss her innocence.

'cause now, in between is The Great Wall.
All I want us to do is just talk.
Just open up and listen and not sulk.
For you, my dear, you are my all.

--REX SANGUIS

DQmXA9RBqr2qRTbWpcnvGDv38v9v6gak6WotkLMMUZxeERk.png

DQmQGasaxDDehk55oFrjiWrWd53jBgByHXPe7eBSMjhgXct.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rexsanguis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is beautiful bro, okay i take that back, you are good bro 🙌🙌🙌😋😋

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69