Heart of a Lion

in #poetry5 years ago

Today I saw a lion
Standing at the corner of Cortland and Church.
Backlit by sun, and my heart gave a lurch
What I saw in his eyes was the end of a search
For the hope that survives a world anger destroys.

People passed by him
And barely slowed down.
Kept hurrying forward, their eyes on the ground
Unaware of what watched them, or what I had found
Hiding in plain sight among the cars and the crowds and the noise.

Today I saw a lion
He walked and I followed as close as I dared
No one else noticed and no one else cared
But I felt the weight of that moment we shared
Turning courage to trust, and ideas into joys.

photo source

Sort:  

Hi @rhondak!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.950 which ranks you at #339 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #139.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hmmmm I wonder who the lion may be...

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha!

Maybe the lion is an idea. 😊

Maybe the lion is... Steem! 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so lovely! Beautiful imagery and bittersweet truth.

Love this. He's been lurking around here as well. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56