The Doormaker

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

All that’s left of all that was
Is all that counts, yet nothing does.
Pen and paper, keys and screen
Endless hours stretched between.
Words will stand though voice is gone
Tear-stained photos, notes of song.
Time can pass but I’m still here
Sorting sorrows, fighting fear.

Refine this heartache, smelt it down.
Cold, gray ashes make no sound.
They’re quiet, hid within my soul
Secret shame I never told.
As everything around me burns
I mourn a truth I can’t unlearn.
I’m fire. I’m ice. I’m wind. I’m stone.
No doorway out? I’ll make my own.


photo source

Sort:  

I really love this. The ways out of hell are self made. That is what this reminds me of.

Now that's a blast from the past. I haven't spoken to you in ages! How've you been?

Thank you for the kind words. And yes, essentially: "the ways out of hell are self made." Yup. You nailed it.

I am much better. I have been posting here on steemit for the last few weeks. Feeling pretty good. Its really nice to see some familiar names around hear.

@deadsun, we'd love to have you in The Writers' Block. That's the writing Discord GMuxx and I admin. Of all posts for me to not include a link in! No worries--here's you an invite link. I hope to see you with us soon!

https://discord.gg/kAb4KKa

You know me, I don't poem. But knowing where this came from hits home and does what I think poetry is meant to do, make you feel something. And yes, this does, in spades.

Hugs.

Hugs to you, too, Muxxy. Thank you.

@rhondak I missed this when you posted it. I can't tell you how amazed I am by this piece. You are a complex creature, and I now have to admit I had no idea you wrote poetry. This poem is so real, and so accessible. While it is deeply personal, I also think we can all find meaning in this piece and find that it resonates in some way in our lives.

Why thank you, Jayna! :-) Mostly, I had no idea I write poetry, either. LOL Every now and then, especially after channeling Erik Evans for High Kill, something poetic pops out.

You are interestingly describing your thoughts in verse, my friend, @rhondak!

Thank you, Olga. Yeah, sometimes it just doesn't do to say things outright. :-)

I can only prose!

Congratulations @rhondak! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I’m fire. I’m ice. I’m wind. I’m stone.
No doorway out? I’ll make my own.

Oooooooooh! That makes me shiver. Well done!

My favorite line too! The words of a survivor!
Rhonda, this is beautiful. I love the simplicity, the elegance, the high impact that ordinary words can achieve when strung together in the hands of a master wordsmith.
If anyone can chisel a door it's @rhondak.

Thank you, Carol.

The trick is, what if you chisel a door and there's nothing on the other side of it?

LOL! I guess it's up to you to create something on the other side?

LOL! I guess it's up
To you to create something
On the other side?

                 - carolkean


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Cool!
I'd never get the syllables right if I tried to write haiku.
I see no door leading out
but I will find my own way
to the other side

Congratulations @rhondak! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80