MY FIRST HAIKU

in #poetry6 years ago

photo-1517780300756-935e9b171f3c.jpeg
Photo by @timscha available freely on unsplash

⏺⏺⏺⏺⏺

Six sunsets he said
Seven sunrises to see
Say your sorry's now



For death's icy sting
Searing all souls in its wake
Sure as spring will come

⏺⏺⏺⏺⏺


Apart from counting fingers to make sure I didn't have an extra syllable or two and tearing my hair out, it was generally an okay experience writing my first haiku.

Not exciting, no, not at all. Just hours of gruelling pain just to come up with two stanzas. So if you want to know what real pain feels like, try writing a haiku.

I did good though, didn't I? Let's just stick to the likert scale on this one, from strongly agree to neutral. XD

Also, sorry for the subject matter. I don't know why but I always hit a ton of inspiration when I'm writing about death. ☹😒

Enjoy-ish!

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Good work! well written haiku!

I'm no expert, but for a first timer, I think you nailed it! Well, i was intrigued anyway :) well done!

Very good! I've never written a haiku, and I'm not sure what I'll get.

Hope you try writing one in time...

Props to you for that Haiku.

I know how hard it is to write ANY POEM!

Here's the one and only poem I ever wrote:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@jaichai/ijch-seriously-poetry-alright-i-ll-bite-here-s-my-first-poem-ever

jc and annie.jpeg

Namaste, JaiChai

Wow... nice one there. At least you got more than two stanzas. Haha

I had to look up "stanzas", LOL!

Namaste, Jaichai

Welcome. 😄

Excellent results! I'd say you nailed them both - well done, especially for your first time. Funny thing about your death-piration - the only time I'm able to write haikus is when I'm being silly/punny. 😜

death-spiration I finally have a name for this plague. Thank you thank you @traciyork
Haha

LOL! You're very welcome! 😊

I've never written a haiku although I have heard that the rules aren't so strict anymore and you are allowed to 'bend' them a bit and still call it a haiku. Not sure if it's fair though :D
I really liked your poem!

Thank you @corina. I guess there's more for me to read about haiku then.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71