Sleepless night

in #poetry6 years ago

images.jpg

I'm still awake
In the midnight
With no one beside
Listening to the ticking sounds
Of the clock
In the darkness
When even the gods themselves may be taking their rest
The clock remains at its job
Telling the time that keeps passing out
Without a single hault

There are sounds of chirping crickets
Busily stridulating outside
Piercing the cold silence of the night
Giving me company
In my loneliness
In my vacant heart they fill some zing

Restless mind, wondering here and there
I want to stop somewhere
But exactly where?
Thousands of questions are amassed inside of me
Not a single answer to any of them
I've been looking for something
Something I lost in the dark alleys of my past
I can't be complete without that
That other half of my heart
You stole it, love it
Played with it, threw it
Broke it, smashed it
And I'm lost
Lost completely with no destination

Tears of silence are falling
Heavy is how my head is growing
Though I want to scream and shout
My mouth remains shut
Twisting in my heart is the pain
It keeps on hammering over and over again
Putting an end to this darkness
Nothing is eternal, nothing permanent
Than the truth itself
So this phase will go away
To make life bright
With the new lights
Of hope

Patiently, I wait for that day
When I'll be tired of crying
And begin to breathe in fresh air
Come out of the darkness into the light
And I'll be me again
That which I used to be
Full of dreams, sleep, and life.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Lovely poem. You have been tagged @steembloggers 30 day tag challenge.

You have been tagged @steembloggers 30 day tag challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59