for believing in something bigger than you

in #poetry6 years ago

image
We're all afraid of something. Maybe there's a piece of our past that's holding us back, maybe we're nervous for the future, maybe we're struggling with something we just don't know how to conquer, or maybe we're hesitant because if we step forward there's a chance we might fail.⠀

I don't know about you, but sometimes I think I'm the only person in the world with fear. (Yes, I know how stupid that sounds haha.) But I get all wrapped up in my own anxieties and I start comparing to others, wondering why they have it so good. I get convinced, just from looking on social media or seeing a sliver of their lives, that they have it better than me. Or that they're somehow fearless.⠀

But truthfully, we're all struggling with something. And I think first of all, it's okay to acknowledge that within ourselves. And secondly, it's okay to recognize fear within others, too, and know we're not alone.⠀

Fear is all around us and a part of what drives us (both positively and negatively). I just think the most important thing is not to conquer every single fear until you become fearless (which, mind you, is a great goal but also impossible - not to say that you shouldn't combat fear...but you get the point) but to turn that fear into ENERGY.⠀

Recognize that fear is natural and human, but use the fear to propel you forward. Use it as a catalyst for chasing your dreams, for believing in something bigger than you, for making change in your life for the better.⠀

You don't have to fall victim to fear, or let it control you. But it's OKAY to have things that scare you - you're not weak because of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64