So maybe it’s not as terrifying as we thought

in #poetry6 years ago

image
So maybe it was simple. No rules. No bullsh*t expectations. Just two people smiling underneath that Southern California moon, wanting nothing more than their hands intertwined with one another, their voices speaking promises they were almost ready to keep.⠀

So maybe I was fearless. You looked at me across that crowded bar and I wasn’t wondering whether or not I should run. I was stepping towards you unconsciously. I was laughing. I was loving the way your lips formed hello and how my name sounded leaving your mouth.⠀

So maybe it was easy. Falling into you. Staying up late and talking about dreams. Breathing in one another’s energy. Imagining a life that would extend far beyond that bar, that little ocean town, those four bedroom walls.⠀

So maybe tomorrows became todays. And you left to chase dreams while I chased mine, leaving our phone calls to fill the emptiness. So maybe I listened to the sound of your voice, pictured the lines of your cheeks, the curve of your smirk.⠀

So maybe I spent my nights crafting out what I would say, while 2,500 miles away you did the same.⠀

So maybe we knew what we were getting into, and we chose it all the same.⠀

So maybe this is hard, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Because I know we both want this. Because I know I want you.⠀

So maybe I close my eyes and you’re here. Breathing my air. Listening to the cars pass on this crowded street. Sipping this beer. Buying the next round, your arm loosely around me.⠀

So maybe this isn’t what I pictured when I thought ‘love story.’ But this is ours, and damn, I hope we keep writing it.⠀

So maybe this is hard as hell. But we’re choosing it, we’re choosing each other.⠀

So maybe tomorrow isn’t so far away, or the next time I see you, or the next after that. So maybe we have calendars and plans and ideas that fill pages.⠀
⠀⠀

So maybe this is what it’s like to know something is real because whatever’s in front of you no longer compares.⠀

So maybe this is distance. And it doesn’t scare me.⠀
So maybe I love you. And that is enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55