The African mosquito

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"The African mosquito"

Every night you drill on my land
Your pike in my peasant's earth
And you leave with wells of my peasant's blood
Indifferent to the wails and weals you plant.

Every night you sound your horn
In the hollow of my ear
Demanding a graft;
Well or weary, pay I must.

Sometimes you land as I nurse
The wounds of your last raid
Sometimes you perch when
My health has long lain fallow

And into some grove or cranny
You flee, far far from here
Across the hill and loaded with the loot

Remember, mosquito, by the same Hand
Were we forged; and the same who
Opens your eyes at night is the
Same who shuts mine at night

But you come and raid and flee
With different tunes of your nagging horn
In different colours, in different cloaks
Sucking my prostrate peasant trunk

Strengthless
Yet you bar sleep from millions' eyes
Strengthless
Yet you are death dreaded by death

Beware, African tyrant of the dark,
The night which shields you
And blinds me, lasts but awhile as
Soon, my sun shall beam from the hills.

PostScript: The mosquito is the symbol of oppression and it is the oppressor

Truly yours

@samueloption

This poem is dedicated to the following: @samstickkz @stach @steemituyo @vheobong @peterwrites @samuelwealth @jaynie @onyemacourage and all those who have put in their best eradicate oppression (poverty) in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria and Africa at large.

Sort:  

This is a nice poem!!!

Mehn... This is superb @samueloption ....

Well inked lines.

Poverty is truly a deadly oppression. I was a victim of it, that is why i give in my best to help as many people in my sphere of influence live above it.

Thank you, bro.
Our country is wallowing in poverty while our leaders are sucking us dry... It is quite pathetic.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I humbly accept

Hi @samueloption

Your post looks promising!

I present to you an invite to join @promo-memtors discord community here for more self improvement on blogging on Steemit through engagement with experienced mentors.

@promo-mentors aim at guiding new Steemians in finding their niche on Steemit and to support promising authors.


Accept my warmest regards,

@vic-essien for @promo-mentors

Hi @vic-essien, thanks for the invite.
I appreciate.

I love this poem bro.... I love your lines...

Such complex imagery here which feeds into a well realised narrative. Just one thing, I believe you might have meant 'prostrate' rather than 'prostate'.

Thank you for the observation, I meant "Prostrate"...
Typographical error, it is.
It shall be corrected with immediate effect.

Beautiful writing @samueloption

Thank you most beautiful @jaynie.
Thank you for stopping by my blog.
I am so excited right now.

Do well to have a "GRATITUDE-FILLED" Monday.

My pleasure @samueloption and you too :)

lol. omg! just one tiny little insect that causes havoc! this is interesting

Thanks @kivar for stopping by my blog.
The tiny insect is very dangerous.

interesting piece here and the use of a mosquito as imagery for oppression

Thank you @maverickinvictus. Indeed the imagery - mosquito is a not a respecter of person.
Thank you for stopping by my blog!

Congratulations human. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-17

Wow! Thank you so much!
Expect the best from me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69