R e v o l u t i o n

in #poetry5 years ago

Revolution
Just one turn around the sun
Though that’s not what anyone usually means

Revolution
One foot in front of the other, tracing the circumference of the earth
pressure between the ball-mounds of the foot
a t-shaped pinch to accompany the sweet satisfaction of exhaustion

I feel I could walk the vastness of the earth
All in one straight line, from rock to soil to sea
Although I can’t imagine the darkness of the ocean floor –
would I be swallowed into the depth?

But it’s the ocean I’d most enjoy, despite my fear,
the most illuminating moments of my revolutionary trek
for I love the texture of seaweed and the taste of salt
and I’m always surprised at how quickly a crab can scurry across the sand.

Revolution
Whose revolution was it – to show us the world is round?
The idea seems to have caught on quickly by painters and princes alike
And who could ever forgive Galileo?
Not the church I’m sure, that blasphemer!

Christ holds the silvery orb in his left hand

...or was it his right?

Sometimes if I close my eyes and lean back upon the sand,
I can feel the tilt of the earth

Sort:  

This post has received a 9.68 % upvote from @boomerang.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 11.57% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86