This is just to say

in #poetry6 years ago

Hi everyone,

Tonight I would like to share one of my favorite poems. I was introduced to these few lines by one of my very dearest friends. After college, he and I shared an apartment together and he was one of the best roommates I've ever had. One of our very favorite activities was to wake up late on Saturday morning and read poetry together, over pastries and fresh coffee. I will always remember these special moments with my friend, especially the morning when he first read William Carlos William's, "This is Just to Say." I love this poem because it encapsulates the simple joys of life and the familiarity and comfort within relationships with those we've known for a long, long time. Please enjoy.

This is Just to Say by William Carlos Williams

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

Sort:  

You just planted 0.23 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shortandsweet

We have planted already 3395.13 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18648.14
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70