Look at me!

in #poetry6 years ago

japheth-mast-679909-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Japheth Mast

Look at me mum, look how fast I can run!

Look at me dad, look how far I can jump!

Look at me mum, I'm almost at the top the tree!

Look at me dad, I got an A in my exam!

larisa-birta-127432-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Larisa Birta

Look at me everyone, I'm on the tallest building in the world!

Look at me everyone, I'm on the top of the world!

Look at me ladies, I've got a six-pack.

alec-douglas-261933-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Alec Douglas

Why the fuck aren't they looking anymore?

Why are they looking at Nick,

What has he got that I haven't?

More muscles, a hotter girlfriend?

Is it more photos they want?

A better filter?

Do I need a new phone?

I'll do whatever they want.

I'll be the fucking boss again,

I swear I will!

hunter-johnson-223002-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Hunter Johnson

Look at me everyone,

I've got a new pair of shoes,

I've got a new girlfriend too,

she has more followers than the last one.

She's got bigger boobs too.

Look at me lads, aren't I cool!

I fucking knew you loved me.

tom-pumford-254867-unsplash (1).jpg

Things are hard though,

Things aren't working out like they used to.

I'm pretty sure my girlfriend is cheating on me.

I'm pretty sure I'm going to lose my job.

I like to drink too much, too.

I'm fucking scared I'm going to lose everything...

I hope no one finds out though.

I hope no one sees what a loser I really am.

I hope no one sees the real me.

craig-whitehead-471806-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Craig Whitehead

Look at me, everyone.

My life is fucking amazing!

I bet you wish you had a life like mine.

Sort:  

You got a 43.14% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Nice piece of writing about the like culture that has developed the last couple of years. It has a powerful message!

This digital identity creates a comparison culture. What do I have I compared to others? That question leads to both admiration and jealousy: the other has something I do not have. The struggle for ownership and appreciation is the result. In fact, you are therefore no longer free: because of the dependence on the other person's appreciation for what you have, you no longer have a complete handle on your own happiness.

There is a danger lurking: we are never satisfied. We have become slaves to the attention we generate through the machine. And we also depending on those machines: we submit ourselves to the community. And although the internet was once presented to us as the means to truly free ourselves, with the world at our fingertips, we are no longer free.

Such a good response, thank you! I loved the last line. I was inspired to write this after frantically going back to check my facebook, trying to get that confidence boost which is so fleeting and unsatisfying. I decided I needed a break from it all, to leave facebook alone for a while. The internet is such a useful tool, such an incredible tool for spreading information, yet it is such a disempowering tool when misused. Facebook and other social media outlets know we want acknowledgment, we want reasurance from others that we are great. Yet when we look at social media for love and connection we get something so bland and disheartening instead- a like on a photos, more followers, someone sending us 'virtual hugs'... we can't touch that, we can't feel it and it doesn't really give us any real connection... just leaves us disconnected and craving more... We need to recognise how addictive and negative these technologies are. We need to look for a connection with people, with real interaction, and most importantly of all with ourselves... and we will never get that on social media!

Congratulations @sol0mon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25