DISREPAIR: A POEM

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

photo-1521981692502-26a9deeb1085.jpeg
Matthew Feeney


DISREPAIR


I am trying to find their sun,
Their light,
The beauty that they claim.
I am trying to see their smiles,
Their white teeth and pink lips
And the joy they feel.
I am trying but this cold,
This cold is a relentless being.
This darkness has me by the throat.

They walk on light feet.
Like fairies, they dance through pain.
Like some lost pebble, they shine
Beneath a murmuring river
Capturing the sun.
I follow them but my feet,
It finds the sharp rocks and bleed.

They have worship on their lips,
I spit curses
Like meat stuck between teeth.
They hold my hand and try
But nothing comes to me
Just sadness and the knowledge;
I am a broken thing.


©steemingnaija

Sort:  

Thanks for upvote me
Keep supporting each other

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61