Monster (20140428)

in #poetry6 years ago


Image Source

monster

mantra of self-delusion
everyday say its all fine
when inside my soul is ripped to shreds
and my heart no longer beats
there is a monster wearing my skin
parading around using my face
throwing stones inside this house of glass
carving trinkets out of my bones
the truth is leaking out
drip by drip and lie by lie
beloved of no one
conjures curses
blessings have passed me by
demon in head possessing my mind
moving my jaws with puppetry
makeshift stage i dance upon
gaping chasm where i used to be
who is this monster that i see?

This poem first appeared on Sumayyah Said So as part of the annual "30 poems in 30 days" challenge.

Recent Posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17