While you were sleeping

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Here I was watching, mind eating
Here I was putting myself in
Here I was candles burning, heart beating
Here I was laying skin

While you were sleeping

Here they are to read, lay their words
Here they are straining
Here they are sharing, flipping birds
Here they are sailing

While you were sleeping

Very few know their names, show their face
Very few will dare
Very few drive hard, earn their place
Very few will care

While you were sleeping

They took it all, what they knew
They took it in the dark
They took the old, made it new
They took it with a spark

While you were sleeping

He thought them smart, thought it hard
He thought it was secure
He thought it false, left his guard
He thought it all impure

While you were sleeping

Here life changed, it began
Here life was born
Here life grew, it sang
Here life was torn

While you were sleeping

Chances come, and they die
Chances come and go
Chances few, reach the sky
Chances come to grow

While you were sleeping

Here I sit, day and night
Here I lay it all
Here I talk, start a fight
Here I stand up tall

While you were sleeping

Time runs away, never will return
Time runs into day
Time runs out, gets burned
Time runs out of say

While you were sleeping

He hopes here, has some dreams
He hopes he earns stake
He hopes here, has some streams
He hopes when you awake

While you were sleeping

Give you enough, provide more
Give you full shelf
Give you space, give you store
Give you all myself

While you were sleeping.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

mine's not sleeping :)))

Mine was awake for a little while but went back thankfully.
Lovely eyes.

hahahah :)

This is lovely, @Tarazkp.

"Here life changed, it began
Here life was born
Here life grew, it sang
Here life was torn

While you were sleeping"

Besides being a sweet love letter to the little one, your phrasing is unusual, memorable and rewards rereading.

Wishing you a long and healthy life, my friend.

Thank you.

When it comes to poetry, I just write, I do not understand the forms and conventions. For me, it just my thoughts in some kind of loose fences to corral them.

Beariful, brother. I can think of no better description. Write on!

There is arguably nothing more beautiful than a baby sleeping, warm little mouth open on your shoulder, soft tiny breath. My favorite moments were the tiny pecks my babies would give me rooting around for nourishment. I must say I am thrilled to be out of this stage, and getting more than 2 hours of sleep at night, but I always miss the little hot breath on my shoulder! Beautiful!

Amazing poem...and that photo is sooo cute...melts my heart ^_^

Thank you.

Time is the one thing we can never get back. If we were to live until we were 75 the average person has slept 25 years of their life away. A lot happens in that time all while we were sleeping.

Side note there is nothing more peaceful than watching a baby sleep. I hope you got some sleep too.

I am unlikely to get to 75 so I don't need anywhere near that much ;) I get by on 4-5 hours and a nap if I can get one.

I enjoy watching her too.

Unlikely to get to 75? In this day and age of technology, I'm hoping to live to at least 90 and that's will most my insides cut out...

I do love a good nanna nap!

I generally live on about 6-7 hours sleep a night which has been drastically reduced since discovering Steemit as when you work during the day, night is the only time left and it's so addictive! Lucky it's Saturday today and I have off until the new year, so lots of time for steemit fun.

I know what you mean, most of my posts are written after she goes to bed until about 4 am (2 am-ish now). Well, sleep when dead they say. I don't have faith technology will save me. I am too far gone :P

I have UC too (all insides still intact).

UC sucks the life out of you for sure. Do you manage it with meds or al natural? I went from diagonis to perforated bowel in less than a year I think. It was pretty severe unfortunately. I spent 3 years and had 12 surgeries trying to get my body back only to end up with a permanent ostomy. But I'm alive and I have an amazing partner that's super supportive so that's a huge WIN. Plus I think I appreciate life more and don't focus as much on the small stuff. Although anxiety still runs rampant some days.

I was 16, went from athletic to bed-ridden and 47 kg in 3 months. The doctor told me not to fly as I may die. Turned down the surgery, managed 20 years on my own but started TNFa treatment this year. It is going well now and I feel pretty good.

22 years of it has taken its toll on body and mind though.

I can only imagine. Its taken a toll on me and I only had UC present for four years.

Since going permanent I haven't had any issues with it. Which is great as for a while there they suspected crohns, which would have sucked even more as none of the treatments for UC worked and they tried a few crohns ones too. So could have been exhausted for life not to mention other issues.

I know I said I would like to live until I'm 90 but in all honesty I do wonder what the toll I have to pay for what I have endured. In particular but health. How can I have any but health without a gut... And like how many years did its steal from my life but on the opposite side the ostomy gave me life as without it I would have died before my 27th birthday. So really I already have 10 years more than I would have with my colon.

Best of luck I hope the treatment continues to make you feel good.

This is beautiful!

"Time remains the greatest treasure that keeps life going"

and mind you...
there's time for everything. Though, it can be abused, yet we would always be at the receiving end of how we've spent our time. So better it is, when we invest it in something that can add value to us.

Thanks.

Awww. This melts my heart. ♥ A loving dad!
While you were sleeping. Thank you for sharing this @tarazkp ! :)

Treasure the every moment @tarazkp, they grow so fast!

sooo cute ... This melts my heart <3
The first time I see your account and I liked it
So I'll follow you

Really that is very nice pome. And that picture is very cute. Upvote and resteem done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68500.64
ETH 3751.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65