Breaking Up Beacuse I'm Falling in Love...

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

...and he's not.
Today I had to do that thing where I take account of my over-whelming Leo heart (Leo sun and Leo Venus) and let the beautiful man that I was dating know that I was falling for him. I know that he doesn't feel the same way and so I told him we shouldn't hang out anymore. He was honest and kind and agreed that he didn't want what I want. Some days, I am so much want. So in honor of that gorgeous man with the good heart, here is a poem I wrote a few years ago when I was grappling with navigating my want.

Say You Want Me Like This

You understand me, this identical cosine
my body’s calculus. Please,
I’m not imaginary. Kneel. Nil. Zero, the equator’s oh.

I don’t need the night or promises like stones. Handle time
like a sprung gate before water. The sea brings salt deep
this dead center map. These fingers, this furrow

and trench, just say you know there was an empire. Submerged, quick
like damp earth under buffalo hoof. Longitude stretch marks
like old trails marked out to guide your tongue.

image pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69516.92
ETH 3835.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72