Recurring Battlefields

in #poetry5 years ago

Relentless war cries
From either side of the horizon
Meant that battlefields would be red
That there would be death
The air would be weirdly stale
The cowards faces so obviously pale
Yet warriors riding armoured beasts
Took to the dirty streets
Ready to die for honor
Some to die for the glory.

They would take on each other
Killing their fellow brothers
Over beautiful hills
Fertile women and fields
Poisoned arrows would fly
Causing muscled giants to die
Their blood would soak the earth
Their bodies scattered without worth
Vultures would later have a feast
On dead men who agreed the least.

Painful wails floated in the air
Those of mothers' chilling despair
Young wives heart brokenness
Children's hopelessness
Wafting away the stench of decay
Looking to choke the life away
Their dying hope
Their lack of ways to cope
Dying to live so badly
Only to later avenge deaths sadly.

gladiator-1931077-640.jpg

ArtCore/Pixabay

Challenge me to leave my comfort zones... Something to keep my mind hooked on as I seek out my light. It has to either be poetry or fiction. That is as far as the energy I am running on can allow me to go.

How be your Tuesday out there?

                         **Cross Posted**

BQ.

Sort:  

That was a dark one. Not sure how to get you out of your comfort zone, but all the downvoting seem to have already gotten you there.

Darkness is my friend. I lurk in it most of the time.

Yes please! We need to cleanse the chain with holy downvotes :D

I am from Scandinavia so in a couple of month I will lurk in darkness no matter what :)

In relation with the weather or?

Posted using Partiko Android

Up here we have light summers, the light visible in the sky even at midnight. In the winter it is equally dark - and the overclouded weather doesn't make it any better.

For a quick second, I wanted to see it happen then I recalled my fear of bad weather :D It's a tricky world we live in.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05