Another day, another poem.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

Here's another poem I wrote a long time ago. It was inspired by a line from a David Gemmell book (my favourite author).

The tide of war

Call ‘em back
Call ‘em back
For the tide of war has turned
Bring ‘em back
Bring ‘em back
For the fates our lives have spurned
Run ‘em back
Run ‘em back
For the dogs are at our heels
Take ‘em back
Take ‘em back
For the devil made our deals

Retreat my boys we’ve lost the day
The enemy holds the field
Retreat my boys the battle’s gone
To the enemy we yield

Call ‘em out
Call ‘em out
Call the brave men out, ‘tis time to make a stand
Bring ‘em out
Bring ‘em out
Bring the young lads out, for we fight to save our land
Run ‘em out
Run ‘em out
Drive invaders out for they cannot face our steel
Take ‘em out
Take ‘em out
Take the foe-men out and we’ll show ‘em how we feel

Push on me boys we’ll win this day
They haven’t got the heart
Push on me boys, our time is now
Our fine time’s bout to start

Call ‘em back
Call ‘em back
But survivors long have fled
Bring ‘em back
Bring ‘em back
While the grass is stained with red
Run ‘em back
Run ‘em back
But they’re all now lying dead
Take ‘em back
Take ‘em back
And again the land is fed

Sort:  

I've never read any David Gemmell but a friend of mine has. I'm a big fantasy guy, with my favourite author's being Stephen Donaldson. I've read the Thomas Covenant Chronicles many times, but for some reason never read the last chronicles. I'm on the second of those now and wondering why I waited so long.

Where would be a good place to start with Gemmell?

I loved the first chronicles, though it took me 3 tries to get past the first 100 pages of the first book. They were a tough read, but I'm glad I read them. Aint read the last one's meself, though a friend of mine has and she loved them.
I envy you not having read any Gemmell cos if you like his style of writing you've got SO many stories to look forward to. If I was suggesting a read order I'd say do them in the order of publication for the first 3 or 4 to see if you like the style. After that just read them in the series that takes your fancy. :)

It took me about 3 goes to get into the first book too, and I've heard the same from others. Just got to get past the rape scene and then you're in. I suspect I'll be reading the last chronicles for a while as they're not on Audible so I have to actually read them with my eyes. Audible is my usual means of book consumption!

I'll queue up some Gemmell for after the current chronicle I'm reading to split it up a bit.

Yeah that's the bit I had trouble with meself. It also didn't help that he was such a moany fecker too! ;)
I just had a look and there's loads of Gemmell audiobooks so you won't get eye strain! ;)

Moany fecker, lol. You're right though. In the second chronicles he goes back to the land with a doctor, Linden Avery. In the last chronicles, she's the moany fecker. So much so in fact that there's a fan group called the Holy Order of Linden Avery Haters! I'm really enjoying it though. My own blog is at sunbane.com, named after the Sunbane in the second chronicles, and my wedding band is, of course, white gold! Saddo, right?

Lol, no not a saddo, just a fan! Some people confuse the two, usually people with no life who don't see past football, soaps and celebrity magazines! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67232.05
ETH 3746.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64