From Machinegun Marine to Grateful Gardner

in #poetry6 years ago

A poetic take on my transition from Infantry Marine, to humble homesteader. 


I traded my bullets for seeds,  

my rifle for a hoe

machine gun knowledge for garden lore. 

I work the land like our ancestors once did, 

like others that still do 

toiling under the sun.

I traded my war face for something more sublime, 

for a sense of peace, a sense of calm  

a sense of certainty in an uncertain world.

I tossed out my combat boots for bare feet,  

so I can always feel the dirt beneath me  

the life-giving earth squeezing between my toes.

I turned in my plate carrier and Kevlar helmet--my cammies too,  

for overalls that hug my body  

for a wide brimmed hat with a stitched-on patch of Bob Marley.

Instead of ducking and dodging whizzing bullets over my head,  

I duck for curious hummingbirds 

I dodge the gentle bees.

I traded in who I had to be once upon a time,  

rough, gruff… detached  

because the land knows, it grows, it’s an extension of me.

Yes, I traded it all in... and I’d do it all over again.


Image Credit : 1

All other images are mine, taken with an HTC One and Samsung Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Welcome home, Marine. Thank you for your service. So glad you are finding peace. I traded in my cavalry life for family life. Just got home from taking 3 pigs my kids and I raised to slaughter. It's a nice life.

In that case, well met and thank you for yours. And yes, it's a nice life. The work, the output, then all the rewards at the end. It really brings home that sense of accomplishment so many Veterans miss once out of the service.

Congratulations @therightsideofup! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome garden there soldier, love the bare foot reconnecting with "Mother Earth"...

Yes. A supreme connection it is!

You found steemitchat yet?

Seeding life over seeding death. Anytime.

Great poem! Content and flow. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the kudos and reading!

Inspiring. I love the line, "I traded in who I once had to be" Powerful stuff. THanks for the share. Following now!!!

How do you handle a shovel bare feet? great text ! only possible because others do what you did ;).

Ha! Well, feet make great shovels! Thank you for reading.

:D no shovel gardening? I don't believe you....

Inspiring writing Matt

This a quality write up and your garden looks great. Thank you for your service. I'll be following.

Thanks for all the feedback guys. I had sent this poem out to quite a few publications and got rejected. Not that I minded, rejection is inevitable and only makes you a better writer, but I've never really had any feedback on my writings. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68541.87
ETH 3868.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63