The Mechanical Hound (Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This is a piece I wrote a few years ago for the mechanical hound from Fahrenheit 451. This is the moment before Montag burns Captain Beatty. Enjoy!


Source

Smoke and ash.
My quivering nose raises to the dawn streaked sky.
From the shadows, I watch my keepers.
They stand in front of a charcoal pit, the leader and his underling.
One, a picture of confidence and the other, a mess of fear…

I smell it.

The scent of a chase.

The needle within my mouth pokes out and withdraws.
Excitement.
Sparks of electricity pop and circuit within my internal hard drives.
A burst of flame issues from a machine the quivering man is holding.
Blackness descends.
He turns on the two puppets in front of the rolling metal log, yelling angrily.

The blowing of a single autumn leaf.
And I become the predator once again.
The thrill of the hunt surrounds me.
I can feel the creaks of my metal joints.
I fully focus the weak, fleshy being before me.
So, I leap into action like a coiled spring released from the pressure that holds it.

For the joy of death beckons me.

Sort:  

Beautiful... there's a mounting suspense to this poem, a music made of words, that builds as you read, like an electrical charge that is released with the last line.

Hey @titus-andronicus! I'd be honored if you'd consider contributing a couple of lines to the collaborative poem I started, just for fun and to build community, in the poetry section of Steemit: https://steemit.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/steemit-collaborative-poetry-experiment

This is just a fun experiment, and it's already getting pretty silly, but I'd love to hear what you'd add to it :) My goal for this is to start a series of similar "exquisite corpse" poems, maybe one per week, on different themes, to bring the poetry community together, and to do a video with each finished poem, with attributions. We'll see if this first one even gets off the ground :D

Thank you for your kind comments! Yes, I'll definitely consider contributing to your collab poem! Thanks for inviting me!

This is excellent - the meter and flow of your chosen words is well constructed. I Love this piece. I will definitely be looking out for your other writings!

Thank you so much! I am glad that you enjoyed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72