SLAVE QUEEN – ThE AgONy oF An ENslaVed wOmAN (Poem by a concerned sixteen-year-old)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

bf4611ce05e2ad9990133382a8beab15.jpg
source

Days, months and years

The times flying like the wind

And I became the woman I wanted to be

A full grown princess in my father’s house

Mother talked about a man

She said I will be a Queen in his house

I agreed soon enough and my problems agreed sooner

My parents were no longer allowed to see me

The neighbors heard sounds of talking drums from my body

I couldn’t leave the house

I was an unseen slave

I bled and cried daily

For this wasn’t the life I hoped for

After conceiving a football team

I’m pregnant again, pregnant with pains

Like an injured zebra

I am filled with stripes of beating everywhere

I’m just thirty but I am an old slave

My parents unknowingly sold me off into slavery

Never to gain independence

From the hands of a maniacal King

Queen? I am a slave Queen

Drenched in regrets and pain and tears

Always regretting

That I was ever born a woman

Onashile Blessing Joy (OBJ)

*** So I am super excited right now! My junior sister who is just sixteen wrote this poem and I just couldn't stop gushing over it. well i did a little bit of editing but it was entirely her idea, her works and mostly words too.

I am glad that her eyes are open to the issues women face and that she can connect to them and make a case for them. However, she is not going to be a lawyer like me, my baby is in love with medicine and humanitarian care.

please show this poem some love by your upvotes and comments and resteems!!

Sort:  

yes never to gain independence.

Babe, I'm seeing "sush" things in her already.

loool...abi ooo

She is a great writer. Please encourage her to focus on writing. Hope to see her on steemit soon

definitely she is a really awesome poet!!! thanks a whole lot!!

So much for a 16 year old

as in ehn...me sef i couldnt believe it when she showed me, i had to post it

Wooow! A sixteen year old girl wrote this? This is a sadonic and exasperating poem of how cruel and inhuman some men can be but at thesame time i would ask that you make sure your little sister joins steemit community. She is an amazing writer and steemit is desperately in need of people like her! Leave her career out of it just bring her in. Resteeming and upvoting this one.

Thank you so much... Still trying to figure out how to get hr in to also be committed

Congratulations @tolarnee, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1727 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $909.71. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01