Self-search

in #poetry4 years ago

2019_12_21_10_49_59~2.png
Photo: Marc Gafni

If I think that I am something
When I am nothing
I shall remain empty
And a nonentity
Since I am really nothing

To think that I am something
I must be a thing
Else I am a laughing stock
And should accept a mock
Unless I am a figment of something

If my love fails for my neighbour
Or I, on account of material feel superior
Or, thrive in self-glory
Then, for me you should feel sorry
Because I am blind and in error

You think you are somebody
When others know you are nobody
Then, weep for yourself
And search your inner self
Or remain a nobody

Many look unto nothing
Yet boast of something
Of which they are not
They shall come to naught
Because they are nothing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71