Shadow of love

in #poetry4 years ago

IMG_20200312_203644.jpg

Under the natural light
The shadow, barely visible
Took on some flesh
And became distinct -
Tall and lanky

Shifting my gaze to the blue,
Gazing until it turned colourless;
The shadow, not static
Became shorter and denser.
I waited patiently.

Taking a glance at the rose,
Glancing until it faded and fell to the ground.
I continued to wait for the shadow
As it shortened to a dot,
Having merged with its substance.

Then, I looked at the lily
Until it too faded and fell to the ground.
And the shadow became long again.
It grew extra long;
So long I could not pinpoint its end.

I waited as it was fading out of sight.
I did not give up,
But persisted
Until that shadow of your love
Tilted on the balance in my favour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56