Post Day Pre Night Reality

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

saso-tusar-120652-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Sašo Tušar on Unsplash

Since I was a child, I have always been entranced with that magical time we call Twilight. Even now, when I take myself outside to experience it, I can still feel the subtle, but no less powerful, exchange of energies. This poem shares with you some of my thoughts and feelings, at such times…

The dying day
Releases
A gently flowing essence
Which night is quick to grasp
And carry on
To greater depth.
But neither day or night
Can quite contain
Within themselves
This hidden force.
For it defies all time
By melting Nature
In all its contradictions
Into a unity of strength.
And nothing but this self
Can know
When day must end and night begin:
For Twilight
Knows no sun or moon,
And only life.

Sort:  

Amazing. I've only written a couple of poems in my life, but try to read as many as I can, and that was Awesome.

Shane - I apologize for the delay in acknowledging your kind comment, but I have been moving and now unpacking so am way behind on things. Please know that it means much to me that you enjoyed my poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59