SteemitPoetryContest # 9 - Holiday Revelations

in #poetry6 years ago

This is my entry to this months poetry competition. Thanks a lot @terrycraft for holding it, it's a great thing. I hope this is not cynical, Christmas typically isn't a very nice time for me. But this year it may be different, because I feel less alone.
I wish you all the best in the days to come!! Any feedback is welcome.
Here's a picture of some ravens flying by my window last night.

Holiday Revelations

I never really liked Christmas,
I'll say it out loud.
Too much sentimentality
And far too big a crowd.

On New years' eve we all just wait
To wage war on our own skies.
One day later marks the date
Jesus Christ was circumcised.

But this year YOU are here with me,
And all is lighted by your grace.
I'll light the rocket, adorn the tree
Just to see your smiling face.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ul1yck1t to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78