On the Death of a Pet

in #poetry6 years ago

I know sorrow's my part and liberty yours

Yet I feel blessed and cursed at once

You taught me just how breathtakingly beautiful innocence can be

My weakness you saw and your strength I came to know

The true nature of my own brothers,flowing through the cracks in devil's smile now

And now your purity forever immune

May you forgive the my inaction or my failure to prevent

I am only a human who can all but lament.

This a poem I wrote last month when my pet kitten died.It was quite young and one day followed me to the road without me noticing when a car ran it over. This poem is extremely personal and alludes to many memories.I hope you can connect. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66938.10
ETH 3118.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81