The Masquerade | (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

~*~

The person behind the mask
Is someone you'll never see
And yet she is not hidden
It's that you refuse to see

You look at her so fondly
See her in shimmering light
Even as she seems empty
Her eyes are devoid of light

You tell her she is perfect
So high up your pedestal
But then, at times, she wishes
To jump off a pedestal

She wonders if this will last
An endless dance in your dream
Behind the porcelain mask
She wishes for her own dream

How long will it take for you
To let the mask fall away?
For the false image made up
To make haste and fade away?

The person in front of you
Wants to shed the mask you made
For the face you once loved
Before your false dreams were made

"Please see me as you once did,"
She pleads with her heart to you
For she is broken beneath
The glamour she donned for you

As the masquarade plays on
People dance in its false world
Until one wakes up and leaves
The illusion stays their world


Note: Click on the picture for the source.



Thank you for reading! I put the other person's (sort of) point of view in pieces throughout the poem. I couldn't see the bold clearly so I used italics, too. Sorry, if it's overkill. I've done the hidden texts before in my other attempts at poetry but never of two people in one. I might just (re)post the others in here in the future. That aside, repeated words here have different meanings. But I'm sure you already know that :)

If you like this (attempt at a) poem, please do leave a comment or an upvote. I'd appreciate any or both feedback. Until next time

Sort:  

Nice work. Upvoted and resteemed

Thank you very much! :)

Boo, it won't let me Resteem it. :(

I like the division of the two views woven in like that. Very creative - impressive writing.

Upvoted and Resteemed

Thanks you. It's probably because it's a few days beyond the one week cut-off that you can't resteem. I appreciate the thought though.

Congratulations @unspeakableme! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This very powerful and well written.
You have true talent! Never doubt this :)

Thank you! <3 I just realized it's weird how contrasting their POV is. He's talking perfection (the bold/italicized words) and she's really unhappy. Reminds me of our conversations in discord. I know I've said this before, but you did great. I really enjoyed my time there.

Very lovely, I enjoy your writing.

Thank you! :) I appreciate that.

This is excellent! I enjoyed that you used the same words, used in different ways.

Thank you :) I'm glad you did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62