Eton's fifth column, by Edgar Alan Marbles the third

in #poetry6 years ago

moon-3083104_640.jpg

I shall punch you in the ear someday, you know.

Yes, I expect you shall.

Well then, you have been warned.

I shall take it under advisement before becoming concerned.

See that you do.

Oh, I surely shall.

Is that a threat?

No, it is a promise.

That reminds me, I have many promises tucked away somewhere.

I’m sure you have; but what has that got to do with me?

Why, everything, dear chap. Come now, do you think me a fool?

I am beginning to wonder.

You can wonder away all you want to, but one day, I will become Prime Minister of all of it.

Is that like being the President of the United States?

There are states and states I’m sure, but this one is above suspicion.

And how do you know that?

I know it because, we have many agents that know things, and they tell us that it is so.

Blindness comes at a price you know.

I shall have you thrown out of this room if you don’t slow down and tell me what you’re thinking.

There comes a point in life where all you know is irredeemable.

Do mean you mean like a library book that nobody wants?

Yes indeed, that graveyard shift of all our hopes we lost a long time ago.

I think we shall never talk like this again, if we know what’s good for us. Don’t you agree good chap?

Oh, I surely do, yes indeed I do.

It’s settled then?

I think it must be by now.

So you owe me a night out and a day in?

I most assuredly do.

Are you really going to marry me with that stupid grin on your face?

I shall wipe it off my dear, when the time comes.

See that you do, or I shall frown.

Image from Pixabay

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67