SECRETS I CAN TELL : A POEM

in #poetry6 years ago
Around the world my body will roam but my soul's in New York

-John Bellion, The Separation.


SECRETS I CAN TELL


pocket-watch-3156771_1280.jpg
photo by Annca on pixabay

steem-times_divider.png
I want to talk to you
Before it is late,
Before the words forget my tongue.
I want to tell you all of it;
The beauty, the pain,
The fear, the glorious power
That filled all of my waking hours.

Every secret that had filled my breast,
Every hidden thing that had soured
My breath and curdled my stomach,
I want to share them with you.
This is not an easy thing
And the journey is nothing
Without the ending it promises.

I watch birds span the sky
In the surety of flight
And I wonder at the freedom
I perceive in their movement.
I want to lift off the earth
For a while, flutter through trees
With the wind and kiss the sun
With the tail of a comet.
I never told you this, did I?

I think of death fondly
Like a dear, dear friend.
I dream of crumbling into dust
After my heart has squeezed
It's last bitter blood of regret.
I want to end the pain
Somehow and death,
It gives the surest respite.
I did not tell you this, did i?

When I write,
When the present fades
Into the canvass of my sight
And becomes the background
Of every verse, every scene,
I become something more,
Something greater than me.
It is not a feeling, it is a knowledge.
I find power in those words,
Did you know that?

I am giving you
These parts of me
That are buried beneath my smile,
Beneath the darkness of my eyes.
I am gifting you with life, my life.
There's truth here and hope.
I hope that you will understand
That my choices were always that,
Mine.


©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Beautifully crafted and delivered very tastefully....as usual. I salute!

#Bigwaves

Thank you @mosunomotunde. I am glad you liked it.

Life, love, and choice, we all make them, they are all ours, they all belong to me. I like the poem, It has been awhile for me to leave a note on one. Just get to busy at times I suppose, The hive reminds me, which is good. I did enjoy the read.

Powerful! There’s a podcast I am listening to at the moment where the subject of interest has depression and it relates to this poem quite a lot. Podcast is called s-Town. U should look it up !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99